2008-2009 BASKETBALL SCHOOLS CLASS 4-A (48)

Ames Ankeny Bettendorf Burlington Cedar Falls Cedar Rapids, Jefferson Cedar Rapids, Kennedy Cedar Rapids, Washington Clinton Council Bluffs, Abraham Lincoln Council Bluffs, Thomas Jefferson Davenport, Central Davenport, North Davenport, West Des Moines, East Des Moines, Hoover Des Moines. Lincoln Des Moines. North Des Moines, Roosevelt Dowling Catholic, West Des Moines Dubuque, Hempstead Dubuque, Senior Fort Dodge Indianola

Iowa City, City Iowa City, West Johnston Lewis Central Linn-Mar. Marion Marshalltown Mason City Muscatine Newton North Scott, Eldridge Oskaloosa Ottumwa Pleasant Valley Prairie, Cedar Rapids Sioux City, East Sioux City, North Sioux City, West Southeast Polk Urbandale Valley, West Des Moines Waterloo, East Waterloo, West Waukee Xavier, Cedar Rapids

2009 IHSAA BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT

CLASS 4-A

*8 substates with 6 teams

* Teams will be seeded for tournament pairings (#1 - #6)

*The seeding points are totaled for each school's regular season play (games 5-15) through Saturday, February 7, 2009 and divided by the number of games. The teams' seeds will be determined using this per game point average.

* If a tie for a seed exists:

- **Step 1 -** Head-to-head competition during the regular season games. If the tied teams did not meet or one team did not win more games than the other in head-to-head competition.
- **Step 2 -** The **<u>FIRST</u> alphabetical** gets the highest seed for the 2009 tournament. (For the 2010 tournament, the LAST alphabetical school will receive the highest seed.)

*Pairings:

#1 seed -- 1st round bye#2 seed -- 1st round bye#3 seed vs. #6 seed -- 1st round#4 seed vs. #5 seed -- 1st round

*Bracketing:

Upper Bracket: #1-Bye; #4 vs. #5 Lower Bracket: #2-Bye; #3 vs. #6

*Sites

Highest seeded teams will have the **<u>opportunity</u>** to be the host school for

1st & 2nd round games

**(Travel distance may be taken into consideration by IHSAA Board of Control)

*Dates (Game time 7:00 p.m., unless otherwise designated)

- * First Round Monday, February 23
- * Second Round Friday, February 27
- * Substate Final Tuesday, March 3

2009 - BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT - 2009 CLASS 4-A

SUBSTATE #1

Council Bluffs, Abraham Lincoln Council Bluffs, Thomas Jefferson Lewis Central Sioux City, East Sioux City, North Sioux City, West

SUBSTATE #2

Ames Ankeny Des Moines, Lincoln Des Moines, Roosvelt Fort Dodge Mason City

Sub-State - Mid-America Center, Council Bluffs; Tuesday, March 3, 8:00 p.m. If 2 Sioux City schools are playing, then @Tyson Event Center, Sioux City; Tuesday, March 3, 8:00 p.m.

SUBSTATE #3

Cedar Falls Cedar Rapids, Kennedy Marshalltown Newton Waterloo, East Waterloo, West

Sub-State - McLeod Center, Cedar Falls Tuesday, March 3, 8:00 p.m.

SUBSTATE #5

Bettendorf Clinton Davenport, Central Davenport, North North Scott, Eldridge Pleasant Valley

SUBSTATE #7

Indianola Johnston Oskaloosa Ottumwa Southeast Polk Waukee

SUBSTATE #4

Cedar Rapids, Jefferson Cedar Rapids, Washington Dubuque, Hempstead Dubuque, Senior Linn-Mar, Marion Xavier, Cedar Rapids

Sub-State - US Cellular Center, Cedar Rapids; Tuesday, March 3, 8:00 p.m.

SUBSTATE #6

Burlington Davenport, West Iowa City, City Iowa City, West Muscatine Prairie, Cedar Rapids

Sub-State - US Cellular Center, Cedar Rapids; Tuesday, March 3, 6:30 p.m.

SUBSTATE #8

Des Moines, East Des Moines, Hoover Des Moines, North Dowling Catholic, WDM Urbandale Valley, WDM