IOWA HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL FAST FACTS – Going into 2013

Play-off Timeline: 1972 – 4 classes (4A, 3A, 2A, 1A); 4 qualifiers per class

1975 – 8 qualifiers per class

1981 - A fifth class is added -- Class A

1984 – 8 qualifiers in Class 4-A; 16 in Classes 3-A, 2-A, 1-A, and A;

1986 – Class 4-A moves to 16 qualifiers 2000 – 8-Player is added to the playoffs

2000 - First - 8-player Championships - 4 qualifiers

2002 - 8-player qualifiers to 8; championship game in UNI-Dome

2006 - 8-player qualifiers to 16; semifinals in UNI-Dome

2008 - A "substate" round is added - 32 teams in each class for post-

season play

2010 – Sub-state designation dropped meaning 32 playoff qualifiers in each

class

2012 - Classes 3A, 2A and 1A will drop from 64 schools in each to 56

Participation/Achievement Trophy for First Round Play-off Losing Team: 1981

District Football: 1992

Play-off Finals in the UNI-Dome: 1976 Play-off Semifinals in the UNI-Dome: 1998

Play-off Semifinals in UNI-Dome (all classes including 8-player): 2006

13-Point Tie Breaker: 1996

Eight-Player Football Revived: 1998

OTHER FAST FACTS ABOUT IOWA PREP FOOTBALL

Overtime Procedures: 1972 (formally adopted by NFHS in 1975)

50-Point Rule: 1992-2003

Continuous Clock after 35-point Differential in Second Half: 2004 (replaced 50-point Rule)

Sportsmanship Ratings: 1993

Player Hall of Fame Selections: 1980 (through 2012 there have been 154 individuals honored)

High School Ratings: Associated Press since 1946

All-State Selections: Des Moines Register – since 1914; IDPA/INA – since 1933

First Radio Broadcast of a Game: KFJB, Marshalltown; Sept. 23, 1922: Marshalltown vs. Belle Plaine and Marshalltown vs. Toledo. This was the first in Iowa and in the nation.

Head Coaches: Going into the 2013 season there have been 769 head coaches who have had at least one team in the State Play-offs. 133 coaches and 113 schools have won at least one State Title.

Titles & Undefeated Champions: There have been 203 State Championships decided. 126 of the championship teams have finished the season unbeaten. By class the numbers are: 4-A-26; 3-A-19; 2-A-25; 1-A-30; A-18; 8-Player -8. Classes 1-A thru 4-A have crowned champions since 1972 with the Class A since 1981; and 8-Player since 2000.

Qualifiers: Through the 2012 season 422 schools have qualified for the play-offs at least once.

Play-off Games & OTs: 3,168 games have been played in the play-offs. 103 of those games have been decided in overtime; Harlan has been involved in the most – nine and winning 8. The most overtimes in a play-off game is 4 and there have been three (1985 – Class A Championship: Paton-Churdan over Sanborn, 20-14, 1985; Class 3A -Semifinals: Spencer over Glenwood, 17-14, 1994; Class 3-A – Semifinals: Harlan over Grinnell, 56-55, 2000). Eleven Championship games, 7 in Class A, 2 in Class 4A and one each in 4-A and 3-A, have been decided in overtime. The most combined points in an overtime is 154 in a semifinal round 8-player game: Don Bosco, Gilbertville (78), Murray (76), one OT (also most points in any 8-player playoff game.)

Officials: In the past 41 years of play-offs (prior to 2013), 1,381 officials have received at least one post season assignment. Of those 348 (25.2%) have officiated at least one championship game.

Next Level: No fewer than seven coaches who have won lowa prep championships have gone on to successful collegiate programs. Included in that list are: **Barry Alvarez**, Mason City (head coach at Wisconsin after stops as an assistant at Iowa and Notre Dame); **Don Knock**, Grundy Center (assistant positions at Iowa State University, University of Nebraska-Omaha); **Reese Morgan** (assistant coach University of Iowa); **Jerry Southmayd**, Wapsie Valley (assistant at Central College); **Steve Staker**, Fredericksburg (head coach at Coe College); **Mel Tjeerdsma**, Sioux Center (former head coach at Northwest Missouri State University); and **Duane Twait**, Emmetsburg (assistant coach at Iowa Central Community College).

Most Points Scored by Winning Team in a Play-off Game

Class 4A - 67 by Southeast Polk vs. Sioux City North [1st round] 2011

Class 3A - 69 by Central Clinton, De Witt vs. Fairfield (41), [1st round] 2007

Class 2A – 63 by Union, LaPorte City vs. Mount Vernon (20), [1st Round], 2012

Class 1A - 61 by Bedford vs. Underwood (6), [1st round] 1998

Class A – 69 by Wapsie Valley vs. Iowa Valley, Marengo (24) [1st Round], 2012

8-Player – 81 by Fremont-Mills vs. Murray (0), [Championship], 2011

Most Points Scored by Winning Team in a Championship Game

Class 4A - 45 by Iowa City, City vs. Ames (22) 1996

Class 3A – 49 by Decorah (49) vs. Bishop Heelan, Sioux City (21), 2012; by Harlan (49) vs. Grinnell (7) 1998

Class 2A – 60 by Solon vs. Central Lyon/George-Little Rock (14) 2008

Class 1A - 55 by Pekin vs. Bedford (14) 1998

Class A – 52 by Manning vs. Fredericksburg (0) 2002

8-Player – 81 by Fremont-Mills vs. Murray (0), championship, 2011

Total Points Scored by both Teams in Championship Game

Class 4A – 69 by Dowling Catholic, WDM (38) vs Iowa City, City High (31) OT, 2010; Davenport Central (37) vs Dowling Catholic, WDM (32), 1973

Class 3A – 73 by Harlan (38) vs Mount Vernon (35), 2003

Class 2A – 81 by West Lyon (41) vs Dike-New Hartford (40), 1999

Class 1A – 69 by Pekin, Packwood 55 vs Bedford 14 (1998)

Class A – 77 by Laurens-Marathon(41) vs North Mahaska, New Sharon (36), 1989; North Tama, Traer (43) vs Madrid (34), 2010

8-Player – 84 by Adair-Casey (54) vs Aurelia (30), 2001

Total Points Scored by both Teams in a Play-off Game

Class 4A – 113 by Johnston (58) vs. Urbandale (55) 2 OT, First Round 2012

Class 3A - 111 by Harlan (56) vs. Grinnell (55) 4 OT, Semifinals 2000

Class 2A – 85 by Sigourney-Keota (53) vs. Clarinda (32), Quarterfinals 2000

Class 1A – 89 by West Hancock (59) vs. Lake Mills (30), First Round 1996 & Manson Northwest Webster (55) vs. Sioux Central, Sioux Rapids (34), First Round 2011

Class A – 93 by Wapsie Valley, Fairbank (69) vs. Iowa Valley, Marengo (24), First Round 2012

8-Player – 154 by Don Bosco, Gilbertville (78), Murray (76), OT, semifinals 2012

Most Total Points Scored in Play-off Games, Season

Class 4A – 193 by Iowa City, City High, 2010 runner-up

Class 3A – 198 by Harlan Community 2003 champion

Class 2A – 229 by Regina, Iowa City 2011 champion

Class 1A – 203 by Pekin, Packwood 1998 champion

Class A – 224 by Wapsie Valley, Fairbank, 2012 Champion

8-Player – 336 by Fremont-Mills, 2011 champion

Updated: August 29, 2013