

IHSAA Media Release 1605 South Story St. Boone, Iowa 50036-0010 Ph: 515/432-2011

Contact: Alan Beste or Bud Legg August 10, 2010

Dallas Clark Featured on 2010-11 Sportsmanship, Citizenship Poster

It is not just the superb physical things that Dallas Clark does that allow him to standout. It is his mental process and discipline that has made him a championship athlete and a role model.

The story behind the man, who now stars with the Indianapolis Colts, is compelling and one reason he has been chosen for the IHSAA Sportsmanship-Citizenship poster thus year. The 12"x16" color poster carries the theme "Character is Not an Accident, Make the Choice." It has been mailed in mass quantities to each high school, junior high school and elementary school that are members of the IHSAA.

Unique to this year's mailing is the inclusion of a DVD with some of highlights in Clark's professional career and footage of an off-camera interview with him done by Thompson Sports of Des Moines for their third made for TV special, "lowa Sports Heroes." The spontaneous footage not seen before in its entirety is certain to have a profound effect on youth with his response to the question, "What would you say to today's kids about drugs?"

The schools are urged to use the DVD early this fall. After October 1 it becomes part of the Campaign for a Drug-free lowa.

Alan Beste, Assistant Executive Director at the IHSAA, leads the poster production program. Of the countless athletes available, the program chooses an individual who strongly models the two cornerstones of the 106-year old organization – sportsmanship and citizenship.

Beste highlighted Clark's selection by saying, "We are thrilled that with the poster and DVD someone of Dallas Clark's stature can send such a powerful message to students that they need to make a conscious choice about their character and the use of alcohol and other drugs."

Clark, who hails from Livermore, had an excellent high school career at Twin River Valley, Bode, engaging in school activities while maintaining a solid academic profile. He was an all-state linebacker for the Thunder in 1997, leading the team in tackles two straight years; once scored 50 points in a high school basketball game, was a hurdler in track and a pitcher-infielder in baseball. All told he earned 17 varsity letters – five in baseball and four each in football, basketball and track. In addition he was a D.A.R.E. role model.

After being a walk-on at the University of Iowa as a linebacker and after seeing action at outside linebacker and special teams, he converted to tight end his sophomore season while still playing on special teams. His final two seasons with the Hawks he became a consensus first team All-American, winner of the 2002 John Mackey Award and starred on the 2001 Alamo Bowl and 2002 Orange Bowl teams.

Since 2003 he has been with the Indianapolis Colts and continues to earn accolades. He was named to the all-rookie NFL team by Football Digest in 2003. In 2007 in route to being a Super Bowl Champion, he set then franchise seasonal position records with 58 catches for 616 yards and 11 TDs, eclipsing the club marks for a tight end set by John Mackey in 1966. He also appeared in his second Super Bowl last winter. He was named to the All Pro Bowl in 2009, the same year he earned Colts' Man-of-the-Year Award.

In 2010, he received former Governor Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award at the Hy-Vee Conference Center in West Des Moines at the annual Character Counts in Iowa All-Star Evening.

(Continued)

He has formed the Dallas Clark Foundation, which raises money for college scholarships for high school seniors attending college, and hosts an annual Make-A-Wish fundraiser, which has generated over \$500,000 the last three years. He and his wife, Karen, reside with their son, Dane, in Livermore.

Clark's poster is the 18th produced by the IHSAA since the inaugural poster in 1995 featured Fred Hoiberg of Ames. In 1998, 1999 and 2003 two posters were produced for the schools.

Previous Iowa athletes who have been featured on IHSAA posters follow.

- 2009 LoLo Jones, Des Moines Roosevelt
- 2008 Zach Johnson, Cedar Rapids Regis
- 2007 Adam Haluska, Carroll
- 2006 Jeff Clement, Marshalltown
- 2005 Chad Hennings, Benton Community
- 2004 Coach Ed Thomas, Aplington-Parkersburg
- 2003 Nick Collision, Iowa Falls; Kyle Korver, Pella; Kirk Henrich, Sioux City West
- 2003 Bruce Nelson, Emmetsburg
- 2002 Nick Ackerman, Colfax-Mingo
- 2001 Eric Juergens, Maguoketa
- 2000 Kurt Warner, Cedar Rapids Regis
- 1999 General John Lorber, Orange City
- 1999 Tim Dwight, Iowa City, City
- 1998 Ryan Bowen, Fort Madison
- 1998 Tavian Banks, Bettendorf; Tim Dwight. Iowa City, City; Matt Sherman, Saint Ansgar
- 1997 Adam Timmerman, Cherokee
- 1996 Casey Wiegmann, Aplington-Parkersburg
- 1995 Fred Hoiberg, Ames