IOWA HIGH SCHOOL STATE INDOOR TRACK & FIELD RECORDS, 1931-1972

Some first names are missing or could be incorrect. Additions/corrections can be sent to Bud Legg - blegg@iahsaa.org

Notes: In the era of 1920, the University of Iowa hosted indoor meets at their Fieldhouse. In the mid-late 1920's they allowed for high schools to also run in the meet, and some Iowa high schools as well as those from neighboring states also attended. In1930 the IHSAA Board of Control negotiated with the University that starting in 1931 that Iowa would host a high school only indoor meet for Iowa schools and that it would be the Official State Indoor Championships. The IHSAA assumed all costs of meet management and awards. As schools developed, the meet eventually went to classes. The Meet was single class from 1931-39; two classes (A & B) from 1940-52) and four classes starting in 1953. The Class Records for AA events include those from large school performances from 1931-52. Record times set in preliminary or semifinal sections may or may not have been established by the eventual event champion. Events such as the 440 yard dash in some years were contested in sections – the event champion and record holder is the fastest performance.

Event (Years)	Class AA	Class A	Class B	Class C
50 Yd. Dash (1931-72)	:05.4 – Carl Nelson, Clinton, 1933; Bill Green, Newton, 1938; Russ Ferguson, Cedar Rapids McKinley, 1940 (p); Clarence Bassett, Davenport, 1942; George Nichols, Des Moines North, 1947(p); Page Arnold, Ames, 1949(p); Ralph Richman, Dubuque, 1949; Dave Arends, Cedar Rapids Roosevelt, 1957; Al Collier, Des Moines North, 1959; Jim Kirby, Des Moines North, 1966	:05.5 - Ron Davis, Perry, 1965 (p); Mike Lint, Anamosa, 1967	:05.5 - Raymond Darnell, Winterset, 1948 (p); Rudy Drahovzal, Cedar Rapids Wilson, 1942; Dick Watkins, Anamosa, 1956	:05.5 – Rick Freeburg, Pocahontas, 1971
60 Yd. High Hurdles (1931- 72)	:07.4 – John Dvorak, Cedar Rapids Washington, 1965	:07.6 – John Bell, Spirit Lake, 1969; Steve Casey, Cherokee, 1972	:07.7 – Donald Van Cura, Cedar Rapids Wilson, 1940 (p); Jim Dabner, Fairfield, 1941; Ted Graves, Cherokee, 1949; Les Stevens, Lovilia, 1951	:07.7 – Ed McDaniel, Woodward-Granger, 1971
60 Yd. Low Hurdles (1931-72)	:06.9 - Carl Nelson, Clinton, 1933	:07.1 – Ron Davis, Perry, 1965	:07.3 – Gary Lutz, Osceola, 1951; Les Stevens, Lovilia, 1951; John Walden, Lamoni, 1953 (semis); Fritz Rohde, Ballard, 1965	:07.3 – Duane Miller, New Sharon, 1955; Ed McDaniel, Woodward-Granger, 1971
440 Yd. Dash (193`1-72)	49.5 – Roger Colglazier,	:50.6 – Steve Carson, Red Oak,	:50.7 – Gary Hollingsworth,	:52.1 – Larry Hulsing, New
	Davenport Central, 1968	1963	English Valleys, 1960	Hartford, 1972
600 Yd. Run (1971)	1:15.7 – Frank Wellbourne,	1:19.7 – Dan Marquardt,	1:17.2 – Jim Tatman, Belle	1:19.5 – Paul Laipple, New
	Des Moines Hoover, 1971	Ankeny, 1971	Plaine, 1971	London, 1971
880 Yd. Run (1931-72)	1:57.2 – Steve Gerkin, Sioux	1:58.1 – Lynn Schlotterbeck,	2:02.3 – George Norenberg,	2:00.4 – Bob Larson, Irwin,
	City Central, 1966	Guthrie Center, 1934	Keota, 1966	1972
1,000 Yd. Run (1972)	2:16.0 – Mike Burke,	2:26.3 – Dan Marquardt,	2:26.0 –Tim Williamson, Grundy	2:25.0 – Art Milliken, Hedrick,
	Columbus, Waterloo, 1971	Ankeny, 1971	Center, 1971	1971
One Mile Run (1931-72)	4:16.9 – Doug Smith, Sioux	4:27.5 – Chuck Cassel,	4:30.1 – Dennis Reed, Anita,	4:20.1 – Jerome Howe,
	City Central, 1968	Garrigan, Algona, 1971	1964	Treynor, 1968
Two Mile Run (1931-72)	9:32.4 – Mark Johnson, Mason	10:04.8 – Mark Adamson,	10:05.5 – Mark Skahill, Villisca,	9:56.9 – Phil Coppess, Oxford
	City, 1972	Cherokee, 1972	1972	Junction, 1972

880 Yd. Relay (1936-63)	1:33.4 – Ames, 1957 (Chuck Lamson, Stan Scholl, Bill Stuart, Bob Covey)	1:35.9 – Harlan, 1959 (Bob Fritz, Gary Jorgensen, Gram Gould, Ron Fascher)	1:36.8 – Glenwood, 1958 (Gene Ward, Terry Ross, Phil Haley, Bob Dalton); Emmetsburg, 1963 (Jim Gjerde, Ken Mills, Bill Rauhauser, Bob Drew)	1:37.9 – Wall Lake, 1961 (Russ Cook, Denny Snyder, Dave Freeman, Gary Snyder)
Mile Medley Relay (1931-69) Discontinued in Classes AA and A, 1960-69)	3:39.1 – Des Moines North, 1954 (Franklin Irvin, Ron Bradley, Gerald Spencer, Caesar Smith)	3:48.2 – Clarinda, 1956 (Bill Wray, Ralph Taylor, Ron Smith, John Woolson)	3:43.8 – Sheffield-Chapin , 1963 (John LaRoque, Steve Schreiber, Dick Larson, Les Corporon)	3:45.0 – Treynor, 1968 (Merle Avis, Steve Maguire, Frank Maguire, Jerome Howe)
Mile Relay (1931-72)	3:27.6 – Davenport Central, 1968 (Steve Meredith, Mike McGuire, Jim Fox, Roger Colglazier)	3:33.4 – Clarinda, 1964 (John. Scrivner, Bill Richardson, Larry Burke, Doug Steeve)	3:36.3 – Manson, 1967 (Larry Jones, Randy Junkman, Tom Sigler, John Walstrom)	3:36.4 – Sioux Rapids, 1962 (Dick Endersby, Andy Ness, Pat McDeld, Mike McDeld)
Two Mile Relay (1931-69) Discontinued in Classes B & C, 1956-69)	8:07.2 – Davis County, Bloomfield, 1963 (Greg Quinn, Jerry Long, Lonny Wilson, Larry Walker)	8:26.2 – Westwood, Sloan, 1968 (Kris Maynard, Dean Mytrue, Gus Johnson, Junior Beebe); West Monona, Onawa; 1965 (Mike Wolpert, Jack Bisbee, Kent McAdon, Bob Ingram);	8:38.9 – Nevada, 1950 (Dick McConnell, Phil Hartman, Charles Case, Ray McConnell	9:03.7 – College Springs, 1954 (Warren Ellsworth, Gerald Van Fossen, Keith Whigham, Charles Van Fossen). An 8:51.0 in 1955 by Quimby was not allowed because it was run outside.
Shot Put (1931-72)	66-6 – Doug Lane, Cedar Rapids Jefferson, 1968	56-08.25 – Dave Mockridge, DeWitt, 1967	55-11 – Chuck Asher, Carlisle, 1968	56-3 – Al Feuerbach, Preston, 1966
High Jump (1931-72)	6-05.75 – Bill Knoedel, Iowa City, City, 1972	6-05.75 – John Slutts, Cardinal, Eldon, 1964	6-02 – Lloyd Thornburg, Pleasantville, 1966; Steve Ehlers, Albert City-Truesdale, 1969; Carl Horstman, Paullina, 1971; Willie DeMan, Alta, 1972	6-4 – Dave Ricketts, Solon, 1969
Long Jump (1931-72)	22-11.50 – Eliger Robinson, Waterloo East, 1960	22-05 – Ron Davis, Perry, 1965	22-04.50 – Rich Franklin, Belle Plaine, 1968	21-09.50 – Dick Sand, Menlo, 1966
Pole Vault (1931-72)	14-06.25 – Dave Nielson, Iowa City West, 1971	13-03.75 – Daryl Hoogeveen, West Lyon, 1972	14-0.25 – Phil Wertman, Villisca, 1967	12-09 – Dave Ramsey, Lincoln Central, Gruver, 1969

Most Running Events Champions*

30 - Davenport; Davenport Central

25 - Des Moines, East

22 - Des Moines, North & Clinton

15 - Cherokee & Fairfield

14 - Ames

Event Champion Leaders by School

Most Field Event Champions

30 - Davenport; Davenport Central

26 – Ames

17 – Clinton

9 – Des Moines, Roosevelt

8 - Winterset

Most Relay Champions

30 - Ames

19 – Des Moines, North

18 - Davenport; Davenport. Central

15 – Des Moines, East

10 – Des Moines, Roosevelt

Most Total Event Champions

78 – Davenport; Davenport Central

70 - Ames

48 – Des Moines, North

46 - Des Moines, East

45 - Clinton

Individuals With Most Indoor State Titles 3 field events

8 – Ted Harvey, Toledo Juvenile Home, DM East

8 – Gerald Spencer, Des Moines, North 8 - Charles Taylor, Des Moines, Technical

7 – Bob Covey, Ames

1 Relay 4 running

2 running 6 Relay 3 running 5 Relay

2 running 5 Relay

Updated: July 18, 2013

^{*} Includes section winners in 440, 880 & mile